jump to navigation

Guest blogger Sophie Conran on Lord Snowdon and the South Downs 17 March, 2010

Posted by sophieconran in mydeco guest blogger.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

sophie conran

I started the week with an amazing sunny walk on the South Downs with my friend Emma and her two dogs, followed by the first lunch in the garden of the year, with roasted vegetable salad, sliced venison fillet – shot and butchered by my gardener – and yummy cheeses. Then I did a little tidying up in the garden and hopped in the car to London, stopping off in Barnes at the amazing Tobias and the Angel, which is a treasure-trove of antique textiles and homewares. I left with some lovely embroidered English tablecloths, which I am going to sew together with different coloured thread for the garden table.

On Tuesday I had a marketing day at Temple Guiting, our country retreat in the Cotswolds, where we do bespoke country house parties.

Temple Guiting, image credit: Sophie Conran

We showed the guests around the estate and the stunning gardens, gave them a lovely lunch and did a tasting of champagne Henriot, which all seemed to go down very well.

On Wednesday we held a launch party at my flat to celebrate and introduce the cutlery range I have designed for Arthur Price. We filled the flat with 100s of fabulous tulips and entertained Editors from the UK’s homeware magazines (and some from mydeco!). I had to make a speech, which I hate and am terrible at, but thankfully it seemed to go down better than I had expected.

The garden at Temple Guiting, image credit: Sophie Conran

On Thursday, and remembering it was Mother’s Day on Sunday, I arranged for my lovely mum to be sent a huge mixed bunch of Spring flowers: irises, daffodils and red tulips. I stomped across Hyde Park in the sunshine but freezing wind to visit Lord Snowdon’s House. My friend Koto Bolofo is doing a book of photographs of the great man, his life and works, and found a stunning cabinet that he had made in the 60s. I thought I might be able to help having it remade. So I introduced him to Sean Sutcliff, who runs Benchmark, my dad’s woodworking company. We all met for elevenses at Lord Snowdon’s amazing house, to see if the project is viable. It looks like it is, which is very exciting.

My mum then called to say she was in the market for some new sofas, as everyone keeps sliding off the old, uncomfortable ones. So I hotfooted it down to the B&B Italia showroom, where we swooned over a pair of cream-coloured, calf-skin sofas, but decided that the dogs might pee on them and that would make mum cry. So after much deliberating, she decided on a really stunning component sofa that is comfortable but very elegant. Good choice mum.

Friday was a day in the office editing the Junior piece I have written for June’s magazine, working through some of the wedding plans, putting together story boards for the new Portmeirion collection and generally catching up with all my emails with lots of cups of tea.

Teapot by Sophie Conran for Portmeirion, image credit: Portmeirion

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

